Straitjacket Fits are proud to see the reissue of their beloved album Hail, due for release on July 24th, 2020 via Flying Nun Records. Obviously, this announcement follows the loss of Andrew Brough; gifted songwriter and guitarist of the Straitjacket Fits, Bike and Dunedin band The Blue Meanies. Andrew’s music's impact is undeniable. For months, the Flying Nun team had been working away with Straitjacket Fits to produce this special reissue, manufacturing was underway and set to announce right before we heard the tragic news of Andrew Brough’s passing. After a lot of thought and discussion with the band, we wanted to share the reissue, one that includes some of Andrew’s most memorable Straitjacket Fits songs like “Sparkle That Shines” and “Fabulous Things”. Thank you Andrew. Formed in 1986 Shayne Carter (vocals, guitar) and John Collie (drums) created Straitjacket Fits with Andrew Brough (vocals, guitar) and David Wood (bass). The band’s debut release, Life In One Chord EP appeared in 1987 before their bone-chilling, epic 1988 album Hail. Hail is an album that showcases the many strengths of Straitjacket Fits in the early part of their development. Hail is a documentation of a band on the up, a band flexing its potential and oozing confidence and optimism.

Great to see bands from New Zealand still out there doing us proud. And let's face it if it’s from the 80’S its gotta be good.


1. Dialling a Prayer / 2. All That Brings / 3. Hail / 4. Sparkle That Shines / 5. She Speeds / 6. So Long, Marianne / 7. Grate / 8. Fabulous Things / 9. Life In One Chord / 10. This Taste Delight

Available on Vinyl and CD from July 24th, 2020 via Flying Nun Records.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Twitter Classic
  • Facebook Classic